Virat Kohli named Wisden’s “Leading Cricketer” third time in a row

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli has been named Wisden’s “Leading Cricketer” for the third straight year. He scored 2735 runs across all three formats in 2018 at an average of 68.37 including 11 centuries. Don Bradman(10) and Jack Hobbs(8) are the only other two cricketers who have bagged the award more than three times.

Indian skipper ended the year with 5 test hundreds, two of which came in England tour where he was in his prime form. He was the highest scorer in the test series scoring 593 runs over five test matches at an average of 59.30.

Virat was also picked as Wisden Cricketer of the year alongside Jos Butler, Sam Curran, Tammy Beaumont, and Rory Burns.

Meanwhile, Rashid Khan and Smriti Mandhana were awarded Leading T20 cricketer, and Leading Women’s Cricketer of the Year respectively. Mandhana scored 669 and 662 runs in ODIs and T20Is in 2018 whereas Rashid Khan picked up 22 T20I wickets with an average of 8.68 for Afghanistan in 2018.

Also Read: Men’s T20 World Cup Winners List

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.