Cricket Australia has announced their World Cup squad and Smith Smith and David Warner have been included in the list. The Australian squad will be led by Aaron Finch in the upcoming ICC World Cup 2019 which will be held in England and Wales.

David Warner and Steve Smith were banned last year for their part in the ball-tampering scandal that shook the world. Their ban ended in March this year.

“Steve Smith and David Warner come back into the squad. Both are world class players and it has been pleasing to see them produce some good form in the IPL,” Chairman of Selectors, Trevor Hohns, said.

Peter Handscomb who was in exceptional form in the last few months had to make way for the duo. Ashton Turner and Darcy Short were also left out of the squad. Josh Hazelwood was also left out of the squad because of the injury he suffered in January.

In his absence, the pace attack will consist of Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendoff, and Nathan Coulter-Nile whereas the spin department will be handled by Nathan Lyon and Adam Zampa. Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis are the All-Rounders in the squad. Alex Carey is the only wicket-keeper in the squad.

“Given the depth of talent and competition for spots, there were a number of tough calls we had to make to settle on our squad of 15. Unfortunately, from the recent squad which toured India and the UAE, Peter Handscomb, Ashton Turner and Kane Richardson have made way for the above inclusions, but all three have been included in Australia A squad for the tour of England.”

Injured Starc and Richardson are likely to make a comeback before Australia’s first match against Afghanistan on June 1.

“Mitchell Starc and Jhye Richardson have both been named subject to fitness. The advice from the CA medical team is they are progressing well and barring any setbacks will be available for selection ahead of our opening match against Afghanistan on June 1.”

Australia Squad: Aaron Finch (captain), Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Steve Smith, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa