Men’s T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2020

Teams are working hard to carve their names in the World Cup T20 Winners list. Previously known as ICC World Twenty20, International Cricket Council (ICC) organizes an International Twenty20 cricket tournament, every two years. Cricket fans are eagerly waiting to see which team will enlist its name in the Men’s T20 World Cup Winners List and who will be left behind.

The seventh ICC Men’s T20 World cup will take place after a long break of 4 years. This year ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be between 18 October 2020 and 15 November 2020, while being hosted by Australia.

Quick History before Men’s T20 World Cup Champions List

Known by fewer, the main aim of introducing the T20 Cricket world cup was to find an alternative to the Benson and Hedges Cup. Furthermore, ICC was looking for a tournament that was fast-paced especially for those fans who had problems with longer versions of the tournament.

Therefore, ECB Marketing Manager Stuart Robertson in England proposes the T20 World Cup that not only helped ICC to restore diminishing fans but also boosted the number of sponsors.

The first tournament was played in the year 2007, which was won by team India against Pakistan in South Africa. Since then, the tournament is played every two years with an exception that the ICC 50-Over World cup should not fall under the same year. West Indies are the present T20 World Cup holders, defeating England in the final of the T20 World Cup 2016 tournament and winning twice.

Also Read: T20 World Cup History Men and Women

Men’s T20 World Cup Winners List

T20 World Cup Champion, from the foundation of the T20 Championship, there has been only six tournaments so far in which West Indies has been the T20 World Cup Champion many times.

The team presently holds the proud title. The inaugural ICC T20 world cup 2007 was hosted by South Africa and won by the Indian team. In the final match of the T20 world cup 2007, the Indian team defeated Pakistan in Johannesburg at the Wanderers Stadium.

Whereas, in the T20 world cup 2009 final Pakistan made their comeback by winning the championship defeating Sri Lanka at the Mecca of Cricket – Lords. The third edition of the T20 world cup took place in 2010 and was hosted by many small countries, which make the West Indies cricket team.

In Barbados at Kensington Oval, England defeated Australia, which is the T20 world cup 2020 host, and won the first-ever international tournament.

In 2012, the fourth T20 cricket world cup was held in Asia for the first time while all matches between teams were played in Sri Lanka. The West Indies won the league by defeating the home team in the finale.

The fifth edition took place in Bangladesh in which Sri Lanka grabbed the trophy by defeating India. Sri Lanka is also the team, which has reached in the finals thrice and tried hard to enlist their name among ICC Men’s T20 World Cup winners.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2016 was won again by West Indies by beating England in the climax and became the team that has won ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winners trophy twice.

T20 World Cup List of Winners from 2007-2020:

YearHostChampionsRunner up
2007South AfricaIndiaPakistan
2009EnglandPakistanSri Lanka
2010West IndiesEnglandAustralia
2012Sri LankaWest IndiesSri Lanka
2014BangladeshSri LankaIndia
2016IndiaWest IndiesEngland

Quick Facts about the T20 world cup winner

  • First Edition: 2007
  • Next Edition: 2020
  • Scheduled Date: 18th October to 15th November
  • Current Edition: Seventh
  • First Winner: India by defeating Pakistan
  • First Runner-up: Pakistan
  • Current champion: West Indies
  • Team with most titles: West Indies
  • Administrator: International Cricket Council (ICC)
  • Format: Twenty20 International
  • Current Number of teams: 16
  • Number of Tournaments: 7
  • ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2020 host Nation: Australia
  • Highest Runs: 1016 runs scored by Mahela Jayawardene of Sri Lanka
  • Most Wickets: 39 wickets taken by Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi