Most Runs in IPL History Till 2020: Run Machine

Most Runs in IPL History

In its 12 years, the Indian Premier League has been a complete entertainment package for the cricket fans. From big sixes to hattricks, last bowl thrillers to huge scores IPl has seen it all. From Modern Day Greats to Cricket Veterans, batsmen have ruled the IPL. Here we present you with the top 5 batsmen who have scored the most runs in IPL History.

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli has the most runs in IPL History

Rated as the best batsman in the world across all formats currently, the Indian and RCB skipper Virat Kohli has scored the most runs in IPL History. He has amassed a total of 5412 runs in 177 matches. Virat Kohli is the only player to be a part of the same franchise since the inaugural season of IPL. Kohli also has 5 centuries in his name. But despite his brilliant batting performances, RCB hasn’t been able to win the IPL trophy yet.

Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina has the second most runs in IPL history

Popularly known as “Mr. IPL”, Suresh Raina has the second most runs in IPL. He has a total of 5368 runs in 193 matches. He was the highest run getter in IPL for the first 11 seasons until Virat Kohli took him over in 2019. Suresh Raina has pulled out of this year’s tournament due to personal reasons but has hinted that we might see him in UAE back again.

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma: Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma has been a valuable asset for both team India and Mumbai Indians and is the third leading run scorer in IPL. The Mumbai Indians skipper has gathered 4898 runs in 188 matches in IPL. Under Rohit’s captaincy, Mumbai Indians have won the trophy four times. He has been seen changing his positions for the last few seasons and it will be interesting to see if he will be opening the innings or batting in the middle order this year.

David Warner

David Warner: Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner has been a key factor for SRH ever since the franchise bought him in the auction. Be it as a captain or an opening batsman, he has proved his worth to SRH. He is the fourth player with most runs in IPL history. The Australian batsman has scored 4706 runs in 126 matches. David Warner also has the best batting average among all batsmen in IPL (43.17) and in 2016 he took SRH to their maiden title victor

Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan: Delhi Capitals

The “Gabbar” of the Indian Team was traded by SRH to Delhi Capitals last year. He holds the fifth position in the list of most run scorer in IPL. Shikhar has been a part of Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals), Mumbai Indians, Deccan Chargers, and Sunrisers Hyderabad in his IPL career. In 159 matches, he has scored 4579 runs.

List of Most Runs in IPL History

Virat Kohli (RCB)16954122008-2019
Suresh Raina (CSK, GL)18953682008-2019
Rohit Sharma (DEC, MI)18348982008-2019
David Warner (DD, SRH)12647062008-2019
Shikhar Dhawan (DC, MI, SRH)15845792008-2019